NCT U “90’S LOVE” REVIEW

NCT has returned with their second album, Resonance Pt.2! The title track,90’s Love, performed by the unit NCT U was released yesterday along with the music video.

MAKE A WISH (BIRTHDAY SONG) was (and still is) absolutely everything to me. My obsession with this song is verging on a bit unhealthy at this point, but that’s totally fine, the song is just that good. Because of my intense love for MAKE A WISH, I was a bit scared for 90’s Love. Would the song hold up to my expectations? I was questioning. But I need not question because this is NCT we’re talking about here.

90’s Love is a homage to 90’s music, as the title infers. The song is filled with the typical old school hip hop/90’s elements. It opens up with that old school knocking mix and the “hey hey hoos” and at that I  was like yep, this is it. They are really doing this.  I was born in 1999, so I don’t know everything about the 90s, but I did grow up listening to quite a bit of 90’s music and that part had hit me with a ginormous wave of nostalgia.     

The mixes and the breakdowns encompassed every bit of the best parts of 90’s music.They were able to successfully mix the 90’s sound with more current sounds. The current elements helped keep it fresh and appealing to this new age of music. It didn’t sound outdated or old at all. The slower portions leading up to the chorus helps break the song up which was nice because it is extremely fast and doesn’t miss a beat. The slower paces really helped with giving you a chance to catch your breath.  

The bridge was so so good. Was it MAKE A WISH good? No, but it did its job. Ten’s high note? Incredible. 

NCT proves once again that they are an extremely versatile group. I don’t think many would be able to pull off this concept as well as NCT did. 

Listen to 90’s Love HERE:

What did you think of 90’s Love? Comment below!

Image Source:

SM Entertainment

Leave a comment