ITZY “LOCO” review

This morning, ITZY released their first full length album Crazy In Love. The music video for the album’s title track, “Loco” was released as well.

Coming off Guess Who and “Mafia In The Morning” I was wondering what type of concept and sound “Loco” would have. I didn’t look at any of the concept photos or teasers, so I went into this song completely blind.

I thought “Mafia In The Morning” was ITZY at their most fierce and powerful, but it has nothing on “Loco.” Fueled by hard-hitting bass and colorful synths, “Loco” is intense, sleek, and fiery. The transitions are smooth and allow the song to run evenly without a dull moment. There’s this gritty undertone underneath the upbeat tune that gives this almost dark edge. This punk-pop theme is something new for ITZY, and they completely own the concept.

The energy is contagious and never slows. I love the incorporation of electric guitar in some moments. It comes in during the pre-chorus and it’s faint, but it’s just enough to really add an extra punch. There’s just so much going on within the overall instrumentals and everything fits together cohesively. 

Though I’m already in love with “Loco” I can see this being a song that I enjoy even more with time. There’s just something so addictive about it. One listen isn’t nearly enough and each time it’s like a new experience. 

Song Rating: 4/5 

Listen to “Loco” Here:

What did you think of ITZY’s comeback? Comment below!

Image Source:

JYP Entertainment

Connect with Me🤍

Social Links

Thanks for Reading 💛

Leave a comment