TWICE “I CAN’T STOP ME” REVIEW

TWICE is back! Yesterday, TWICE released their new mini album EYES WIDE OPEN and the music video for the title track, I CAN’T STOP ME.

TWICE is a group that has grown on me over the last two years. Not going to lie, I didn’t necessarily have strong feelings towards them or their music. But then the cultural reset that is FANCY happened, and I have been a fan ever since. I like their newer music more than their old because it’s a more mature sound. But it still has those old cute elements from their past. I loved Feel Special and MORE & MORE, so I was amped to see what they had in store for us with this comeback.

I CAN’T STOP ME is another disco/70s inspired song. But what’s different about this song is that the beat is really quiet. It’s a softer disco song, which I actually really liked. It’s a song that makes you want to sway to it.

 I feel like the vocals are the highlight of this song. I don’t know if that was the intention because of how soft and quiet the melody is. There’s not much depth with the beat, it’s more so continuous with a few added ding sounds here and there, but for the most part it’s the same. The dings are bell like and add a really nice touch and an airy quality. There’s a bit of build up towards the end but then it evens out again. The vocals, however, are really strong and distinct and the members sing powerfully in a way that gives the song an anthem feel.

I CAN’T STOP ME is really cute and different from anything that Twice has put out so far, which is a really good thing. It’s not one of TWICE’s strongest title tracks in my opinion, but it is still extremely enjoyable and I do like it. I feel like TWICE  is one of those groups that can’t have a bad song. Yes, there are some songs that hit better or you might enjoy more than others, but all of their songs are ultimately good quality. 

Listen to I CAN’T STOP ME HERE:

What did you think of TWICE’s comeback? Comment below!

Image Source:

JYP Entertainment

Leave a comment