JIN “ABYSS” REVIEW

Jin has surprised us this morning by releasing a solo song called Abyss!  For his birthday, Jin has decided to celebrate with a new song. The song dropped at 8:00am for me, so this was just the most absolute perfect way for me to start my day. Kim Seokjin blessing us so early in the morning was basically the guarantee that I was going to have a good day today. 

I’m always interested in Jin’s solo music. As one of the more private members of BTS, it’s a little look inside his mind. With a song title like Abyss, I just knew that I was going to be in for a rollercoaster of emotions and I was ready for it. As early as it was in the morning, I was ready to be emotionally wrecked. 

Abyss is ballad like but the guitar strings and melodies gives it a more upbeat feel. There’s just so much going on sonically. There’s background dings and synths and in the second verse the beat switches up slightly with a deeper bass. It was beautiful and the different mixes of light instrumentals with the deeper guitar strings created this otherworldly feeling. The song feels so light and weightless. It feels so warm and it feels like you’re being uplifted out of an abyss of sadness and into peaceful land.

This style of music fits Jin’s vocals the best. He has the voice for slower ballads and I feel that that’s where he truly shines. His singing was heavenly. His voice is just so stable and strong. The way he was able to switch between a high and low register so smoothly was incredible.

Abyss was everything I was expecting it to be and so much more.

Thank you Jin for blessing us with this masterpiece.

Happy birthday Jin!

Listen to Abyss HERE:

What did you think of Abyss? Comment below!

Image Source:

Bighit Labels

Leave a comment