Chungha “Dream of You” REVIEW

Chungha is back! Last night, Chungha released Dream of You, the first of two pre-release singles in anticipation for her new  album that will be released in January. 

I love Chungha. She is one of my absolute favorite solo artists and she has incredible dancing and vocal skills. Chungha releases nothing but bops, so I was going into Dream of You with nothing but high hopes and expectations.

Dream of You is different than what I was expecting, and that’s in the best way possible. From the title, I thought it was going to be a slower, more sensual and mellow song, but that was absolutely not the case. For this song, Chungha collaborated with DJ and producer R3HAB.

Dream of You is retro  mixed with electronic/house beats and hard bass. The bass guitar and beat is so strong from the moment the song starts. It’s so quick and hard hitting that you don’t have a moment to fully breathe before you’re launched into the entire song.  There’s so much bop and bounce to it that it’s infectious. The clapping beat in the background keeps the hype of the song so that it’s never dull or boring. I really loved the pre-chorus. Chungha’s voice becomes a bit isolated as the beat quiets and slows a little. It really helped in breaking up the song before launching back into the fast pace in the chorus. The chorus consists of the line “Don’t make me dream of you” repeated over and it’s super catchy and mixed with the bass and house beat, sounds so good. 

Chungha sings the song completely in English, which was a pleasant surprise. It’s not the first song she’s sung in English, but I just wasn’t expecting it. Her vocals on this song are so different and interesting because we get to hear her sing in a lower register. She maintains the low singing tone for the entirety of the song and it is so glossy and smooth. I like her lower register a lot and I’m glad that she’s experimenting with her vocals more.

What can you really say when it comes to Chungha? She always delivers and comes back with something different and fresh. I can’t wait for the next single and I am even more impatient for the album.  

Listen to Dream of You HERE:

What did you think of Dream of You? Comment below!

Image Source:

MNH Entertainment

Leave a comment